Deutsch Intern
    Press and Public Relations Office

    New University on Sanderring

    The New University on Sanderring was inaugurated on 28 October 1896. It was built to mitigate the shortage of space in the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg (JMU) at the time. The central building's roof features a group of figures created by the Munich sculptor Hubert Netzer. It shows Prometheus swinging the torches of intellectual progress against the dark forces of ignorance and barbarism for truth and justice.

    A bronze plaque with the inscription "Veritati" is a reminder that the building was devoted to the truth. The inscription was the personal motto of the Würzburg theologian Herman Schell who was the rector of the university at the time.

    More informations


    Please note that using the photos is only allowed for coverage about the University of Würzburg. Also, you have to cite the source as "photo: University of Würzburg" or quote the photographer's name where available.

    Click the images to show a magnified view. Right-click the picture and select:

    • "Save Image As" (Mozilla Firefox)
    • "Save Target As" (Internet Explorer)

    Then select the corresponding folder in which to save the photo.

    Contact

    Universität Würzburg
    Sanderring 2
    97070 Würzburg

    Phone: +49 931 31-0
    Fax: +49 931 31-82600

    Find Contact

    Sanderring Röntgenring Hubland Nord Hubland Süd Campus Medizin

English Intern
    Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

    Neue Universität am Sanderring

    Die Neue Universität am Sanderring wurde am 28. Oktober 1896 eingeweiht. Das Gebäude sollte die damals herrschende Raumnot der Julius-Maximilians-Universität lindern. Auf dem Dach des Mittelbaus ist eine Figurengruppe des Münchner Bildhauers Hubert Netzer zu sehen. Sie zeigt Prometheus, der die Fackeln des geistigen Fortschritts hoch emporschwingt – gegen die finsteren Mächte der Unwissenheit und Rohheit, für Wahrheit und Recht.

    Ergänzt werden die Figuren durch eine Bronzetafel mit der Inschrift „Veritati“ – der Wahrheit sollte das Haus geweiht sein. Die Inschrift geht auf den Würzburger Theologen Herman Schell zurück und war dessen persönliches Motto. Schell war damals Rektor der Universität.

    Mehr Informationen

    Fotorechte beachten!

    Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Verwendung der Fotos nur im Zusammenhang mit einer Berichterstattung über die Universität Würzburg und unter Angabe der Quelle "Foto: Universität Würzburg" gestattet ist.


    Bilder herunterladen

    Klicken Sie auf die Bilder, dann erscheint eine große Ansicht. Klicken Sie darauf mit der rechten Maustaste und wählen Sie:

    • "Grafik speichern unter" (Mozilla Firefox)
    • "Ziel speichern unter" (Internet Explorer)

    Wählen Sie dann das entsprechende Verzeichnis aus, in dem Sie das Foto speichern möchten.

    Kontakt

    Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
    Sanderring 2
    97070 Würzburg

    Tel.: +49 931 31-86002
    E-Mail

    Suche Ansprechpartner

    Zwinger 32